A blustery, sunny walk across Tower Bridge.

towerb1towerb2towerb3towerb4towerb5towerb6towerb9towerb10towerb11towerb12towerb13towerb14towerb15towerb16towerb17
“Walkin’ along, singing my papppppppper song, tra la la!” If my life right now were a song, that would probably be it- I have been writing for dayzzzz. Luckily I have the blog to distract me. Fun fact: yesterday, 3 people, including myself, showed up for one of my seminars. This resulted in a move from the classroom to the pub and one of the most challenging “class” discussions I’ve ever had because there was NOWHERE TO HIDE! At one point, my professor even said, “That’s an excuse, what do you really think?” and “The European worldview is dead, you learned the wrong language.” So those were comforting things to hear shortly before graduation.

Anyway, let’s talk about the fun stuff, and look at some of my favorite pictures from London, taken on and around Tower Bridge our last day in the city. I really like Tower Bridge- I think it’s one of the prettiest girls things in all of London! It’s also in a different part of town from a lot of the museums, minus Tower of London, which makes for some good wandering. It was about lunch time when we got there, and before heading to the bridge we took a long detour to get lunch at a hole-in-the-wall Thai/Indian/general curry place that was delicious and under 5 pounds. Although it was sunny, making for great pictures, it was also freezing out- the wind was blowing pretty hard as we wandered around the city. London has such great shorter-building architecture- it’s so different from the towering skyscrapers of New York. I particularly like the Shard, as evident by its presence in a ton of my pictures. On the bridge, there were vendors selling toasted almonds (yum) and plenty of people enjoying the decent weather. We also attempted to go to Borough Market, which is a short walk away from the bridge, but were thwarted by our late arrival (around 3 or 4 in the afternoon) and the fact that it wasn’t the weekend (I think).

This might be as good a time as any to talk about the shows we saw while in the city- Mama Mia! and Monty Python’s Spamalot. Both were very fun and I have to say I am a total convert to the cult of Mama Mia! now. It was amazinggggggg. The storyline? Don’t worry about it. Ridiculous jumps from character to character? Just get into the GROOVE, man! I’ve been walking around Bath singing under my breath, “I wasn’t jealous before we met…. now every man that I see is a potential threat….” so hopefully that hasn’t been freaking out the locals too much.

To get to both shows the fastest method of transportation was a double-decker bus (score!) and I LOVE the new hybrid buses that London has rolled out. They look so good and are so quiet, which I really appreciate after slogging up to the Uni on struggle buses every day. You can check them out here- my favorite part is how the windows wrap around the whole bus! /end bus-love rant.

Other things I’m thinking about today: Chinese airspace, changing habits, and cake recipes. Have a great day everyone! :)

2 comments

  1. as swede i might have to disappoint you, abba are highly overrated… there is so much better disco indulgence out there. :)
    your writing is more enjoyable!

Leave a Reply

