Grad School is over… now what?

graduationlauraheidi

That seems to be the question that everyone is asking me, and that I and my fellow classmates keep asking each other. It’s been a crazy last couple of weeks, hence the reduction in blog posts. I drove with Katelyn from Milwaukee through Chicago down to North Carolina, went to DC for a few days to feel out my job prospects there, and then wrapped things up with some time in Connecticut with the family.

Last time I graduated I had a plan. My plan was…. to go try and graduate again from graduate school. It was a sort-of-kind-of transition, primarily to living in a bunch of new places with a bunch of new people, but my primary identity and tasks were the same: be a student, do your work, and earn your degree. Now, long story short, everything is annoying, nothing is certain, and the number of cover letters I’ve written over the last few months could fill a book. A fairly large one to be precise. No exaggerations here.

Anyway, I’m doing my best to embrace the uncertainty and have a positive attitude. Life is generally good, and will hopefully continue to be.

2 comments

  1. Good luck good luck good luuuuuuck. I feel like it’s kind of freeing to accept that I/you/we/everyone has no idea what is coming next. Like, how exciting!

    Remember how Meg Jaye talks about steering the transatlantic flight throughout your twenties? Well, your flight has done all the hard work of taking off and gaining altitude–now you just have to steer it home :)

Leave a Reply

