Coffee and a Happy New Year!

by Heidi Obermeyer

Hello my loves! So, winter break is finally over (at least here- you lucky ducks at CU still have another week! But really- isn’t 4 too long? I don’t think I would like it.) and along with it, all of my beliebte (beloved) Christmas markets are gone. 😦 I had a wonderfully traditional, Bavarian, celebrating-on-Christmas-Eve Christmas with my friends and family (man, that phrase is so adults-only, and now I’m actually using it. Weird!) in Oberstaufen. It was snowy, and quaint, and just beautiful. And… I took maybe two pictures. Calm down, okay! I was just trying to experience the experience instead of capturing it!

Anyway, now that I’m back in München again, I thought I’d let you all know what my best pre-trip purchase was. Hold you breath… get ready….

A coffee maker. Yep. You read that correctly. No, seriously. A coffee maker. To be more specific, this guy:

München, Bayern, Germany

Do you like how I made the picture black and white, not only to make the picture look more artsy, but also to try and hide how dirty my stovetop is? Great! Me too!

I got him (yes, it’s a him somehow) at IKEA right before I left for $20. As Ali was watching me pack, I picked up the coffee maker, torn between the “I-just-bought-this-and-I-love-it” and “this-is-heavy-and-unnecessary” packing modes. A fellow coffee connoisseur (Okay, that term is total BS. I think what I’m trying to say is… we just both really love coffee. Just not in a “know-the-source-of-your-beans-and-their-acidity-levels” kind of way.) she immediately said, “You have to take that!” and into the suitcase it went. Fast forward twenty hours to me at Boston Logan transferring the 10 lbs of heaviest things I can find into a tote bag to carry on for my flight to Munich, and then fast forward to me setting this sucker up in my exceedingly small StuSta apartment. WORTH IT.

This thing makes exactly the right amount of coffee for one-ish (or definitely two, if you’re going to heat up some milk as well) and the coffee can be as ridiculously potent or weak as you want it. It takes about fifteen minutes from start to finish on my lame hotplates (which translates to about 10 minutes on a nice gas stove I’m betting) and makes this wonderful bubbly-empty sound when it’s ready. There is just something so satisfying about making just enough for one person, on one occasion. It’s a ritualistic experience.

I then generally top this off with a little sugar, a heaping spoonful of dark hot chocolate mix, and a little milk. Yum yum yum! I’m sipping some right now and it is just a wonderful start to a winter morning. Here’s a link to this thing on IKEA, but you can also find them at thrift stores and probably Goodwill for a pretty cheap price. Enjoy!

