Erik Visits Munich!

by Heidi Obermeyer

Hello my dear readers! It’s been quite a while since I’ve updated, my goodness! But the last few weeks have been totally crazy, schedule-wise. Erik came to visit for 3 weeks, which included trips to Paris, Oberstaufen, and Hamburg, and I’m writing this to you now from Budapest, Hungary after a few days back in Munich relaxing and getting Erik shipped back off to the States. It’s been a full 3 weeks!

Anyway, might as well start at the very beginning (a very good place to start) and tell you all about exploring Munich in the springtime with my brother! It was so cool to finally see everything getting greener, plus we had AMAZING weather almost the entire time. Sunny almost everyday AND it’s not quite tourist season yet. Perfect for Munich-y adventures! It was also nice because it gave me an excuse to visit a bunch of Munich stuff that I haven’t done since I first got here or hadn’t gotten around to doing. Such as… BMW World! I hadn’t gone because I am 1. a pretty committed fan of my little VW jetta and 2. not at all very aware of the difference between my little trooper of a car and a really nice BMW V80,000,000-extreme-speed-hardcore-whatever model. But it actually turned out to be super interesting! The museum was put together so well and had all kinds of interactive parts that were very entertaining, plus the architecture of the visitor’s center is fantastic. I’d really like to go back and do the 2-hour factory tour that they offer- it just requires more advanced planning than we managed on this trip.

München, Deutschland

We also went to the Viktualienmarkt, which was getting going since it’s finally warm enough for stuff to start growing again.

München, Deutschland

We also went to go see the surfers in the Englischer Garten, which I hadn’t done yet! I’d always seen them from the bus, but it was really neat to finally stop and watch for a while. It’s always funny to see someone biking across the park with a surfboard on their bike… in Germany. Haha!

München, Deutschland

I also (strangely) hadn’t yet climbed Alter Peter, a church downtown that’s super old and provides completely incredible views of the city and, on clearer days, the Alps! It only costs a Euro and was such an interesting place to look around the city and be able to look at all the gorgeous architecture from above instead of from street level. Here’s the Rathaus, and, where you can see those towers to the right in the distance, is about where Studentenstadt is.

München, Deutschland

Anyway, it was fun to revisit all the lovely tourist-y things that I’ve been living around for the last few months, and to get to show someone all of the cool stuff I’ve found! It was great to have Erik here for a few weeks to help trim down my remaining list of stuff I want to see in Munich. More pictures/stories from the rest of our trip to come!

