Caprese salad, how do I love thee? Let me count the ways…

by Heidi Obermeyer

I love thee to the depth and breadth and height the Viktualienmarkt can reach when it’s feeling out of sight! Okay, cheesy opener. But I still need to talk about how much I love caprese salad. A few weeks ago the perfect storm brewed in my kitchen- I bought some real, non-wintery tomatoes and high quality buffalo mozzarella at Viktualienmarkt (the giant farmer’s market that goes on every day in Munich), had olive oil and balsamic on hand, my basil plant was still alive, and I was ready to make lunch. It was perhaps the best caprese salad I have ever eaten. So good, in fact, that I deemed photo records of it necessary. Et voilà!

Munich, Germany

If you’ve never tried buffalo mozzarella before, I need to sing its praises to you. That stuff takes that mozz flavor that we all love so dearly and elevates it to a status you never knew existed until you just read this sentence. I’d highly recommend it and would say that the higher price is irrelevant once you taste the difference. And, if you haven’t discovered how easy and wonderful caprese salad is, here’s a recipe from the Pioneer Woman that even details how to make a balsamic reduction, which is a fun and difficult-sounding thing to be able to say you’re making while you’re on speaker phone with your Aunt Doris while in the kitchen.

