Restaurant Review: The Winding Stair

by Heidi Obermeyer

Way-back-when in March while Morgan and I were in Ireland for a long weekend, we were on a mission to find a great place to get Irish food. The only restaurant we specifically picked out before we got there was the Winding Stair in Dublin, which we read about in Hither and Thither’s travelogue on Ireland. Irish food is pretty similar to British food- lots of stuff that, in all honesty, I might consider to be pretty bland on an average day, like unidentifiable mashed up vegetables. The Winding Stair took that assumption, gracefully lifted it up, and smashed it against a quaint brick wall like the fantastic culinary establishment that it is!

Dublin, Ireland

The Winding Stair is a restaurant upstairs and a book store downstairs. Yeah, you heard me right. And their decor has a nice well-lit-farm-kitchen-meets-modern feel. It’s wonderful.

Dublin, Ireland

A 2 course lunch without wine was 22 euro, which was a great deal considering the quality of the food. I am a terrible relayer of information today and don’t remember exactly what I ordered, but I do have a few pictures of the various dishes from the meal. It’s always fun to go to restaurants with Morgan because we get strategic and usually get two different tasty things so that we can try more of the menu.

Dublin, Ireland

Here’s a broccoli and brie potato pancake (but don’t quote me on that. Actually, you can quote me, I just can’t make any guarantees. My guess is that there’s about an 87% chance of correctness).

Dublin, Ireland

I would (and hopefully will someday) return to The Winding Stair in a heartbeat- it’s a great way to experience Irish food at a good price and in a cozy atmosphere along the riverfront in Dublin.

For The Winding Stair’s website, click here: http://www.winding-stair.com/

