Vienna is just full of secrets

by Heidi Obermeyer

Last Thursday night, I was feeling stir crazy. I haven’t been traveling much this semester so that I can work as much as I can while I’m still interning (I’ll be able to tell you all more about it soon once I’m done- it’s going to be so exciting!), and it was getting old to be spending every weekend in Munich. I had taken Friday off and was becoming increasingly frustrated with deciding what to do. It was time for adventure! For spontaneity! For living life! For… Vienna?

Anyway, this combination of events is what led to me showing up at Hauptbahnhof (the central train station) at 10 pm on a Thursday and proceeding to buy a ticket on the overnight train to Vienna, where I was fairly sure a few of my American friends were going to be showing up in the morning from Venice. Problem: They were on their own night train from Venice and had no idea I was coming. Second Problem: Vienna has a LOT of train stations. 4 or something. And you usually pass through a couple of them on your way into town. Solutions to all problems: Googling overnight trains from Venice to Vienna, finding the only one their is and where it ends up, and waiting. And… it all worked out somehow! We had a really wonderful exploring the city, even for just a day. I’m always surprised at how long weekend trips are and how much you can pack in, even though you think “I only have x number of days here!”

We went for a walk in the evening and Taryn took a random turn through a gate, and voilà! Belvedere palace and the surrounding gardens were right there near our hotel! Vienna seems full of surprising secrets.

Vienna, Austria

Once you walked through the unmarked side entrance, the grounds open up quite suddenly. Lots of pleasant statues of course 🙂

Vienna, Austria

And fountains with sweeping views of the city.

Vienna, Austria

And it drizzled a bit while we were walking around, which led to a double rainbow. I know what you’re thinking, and… yes. It was all the way across the sky.

Vienna, Austria

I’m so glad I decided to go meet up with my friends- I mean really, how often do you get the chance to travel together somewhere to somewhere cool as Vienna? Not often!

Vienna, Austria

An evening walk around Belvedere was a great way to end the day- admiring such a beautiful palace and having almost no one else there made for a surreal end to an all-too-brief trip.

Vienna, Austria

More to come on Vienna soon- we also visited the Spanish Riding School and did a LOT of walking around the city, so there’s still more to tell and lots of summery pictures. Stay tuned.

