A few more pictures from Vienna

by Heidi Obermeyer

I don’t have much more to tell about my trip to Vienna- I was only there for 1 full day, so I didn’t see everything I wanted to, but I did get some nice pictures around town that I still wanted to share. We basically just walked around exploring the city between our two activities at the Spanish Riding School. The Volksgarten is just a hop, skip and a jump away from the School, so we spent some time in there. I really enjoy going to different countries where they still speak German. 🙂

Vienna, Austria

There was a really cool art instillation in a temple there with a pretty big painted tree. It was quite unexpected but refreshing to encounter unexpectedly instead of a statue or memorial to some long-gone important Austrian.

Vienna, Austria

There were also some blooming water lilies…

Vienna, Austria

After the Volksgarten we walked by the Rathaus, which is just barely peeking over the trees in this picture…

Vienna, Austria

And ate some Wienerschnitzel! Not named for Wieners (Gosh, get your mind out of the gutter! How old are we, 21? About to start grad school? Well… WIENERSCHNITZEL! *snicker*), but in fact for Wien- the German name for Vienna. There’s so many cities with both English and German names… curious, very curious!

Vienna, Austria

On bellies full of delicious schnitzel, we continued to explore the city. What an old, beautiful place. Vienna captivated me.

Vienna, Austria

Plus there were plenty of horses. Pretty, pretty horses.

Vienna, Austria

Any fun plans for the weekend? I’m going to be working on finishing up a few major papers for my classes, especially since it’s supposed to be rainy and there’s only 2 (!) weeks left in the semester. Wowza! Better get crackin’.

