Restaurant Review: Indian food in Munich at Sitar

by Heidi Obermeyer

It’s been a bit rainy and dreary in Germany the last few days. The weather report keeps claiming that it’s going to rain all day, but then the sun pops out for a few minutes here and there between torrential downpours. It’s more April than July, and I keep forgetting that it’s actually summertime! This time last year I was slathering on the sunscreen and looking at weeks of 90-degree heat in Boulder.

Munich, Germany

Last week Morgan and I took a little study break and walked from Odeonsplatz to an Indian restaurant that I remembered from ordering lunch once at work. On the way (just a quick 15 minutes), we passed by some clever signage- this one says “Can you save the world????” and the tabs to pull off say, “Yes I can! I’m saving the world!” Another quality one was for a missing pigeon, plus free please-take-one mustaches. Teehee!

Munich, Germany

The Theatinerkirche was certainly looking mighty beautiful with the sun setting- this church has definitely endeared me to that color yellow.

Munich, Germany

Indian food is so scrumdiddlyumcious. I love it. I feel like people like to use the word fragrant to describe good rice a lot, so I’m about to go for it. Look at this succulent and fragrant basmati rice! Ah! Indian food! It’s been so long!

Munich, Germany

We split a pot of chai, which is always a) super legit at Indian restaurants, at least the real ones, and b) perfect for a crisp summer day. Evening. Whatever. Sigh… I wish I didn’t have to use the word “crisp” to describe summertime.

I got what I would call Saag Paneer, but under another name at Sitar- a delicious cheesy spinach dish that is the bestest. If I could only eat Saag and Naan for the rest of my life I would be a happy girl, at least for a few weeks. This isn’t the Saag, but it is a pretty red sauce that came along with it!

Munich, Germany

Now THIS is Saag. It may not be much to look at my friends, but the taste… my, my. And look at that cheerful little pot it came in!

Munich, Germany

The restaurant we went to is called Sitar, and it’s just a few streets over from the Lehel U-bahn station. I’d definitely recommend it if you’re looking for a departure from everyday Bavarian cuisine and for something really spicy in this mild town- they told us one sauce for our appetizer was spicy, and to our great surprise it actually was! 🙂 For now, I’m back to a bit of writing for my International Security course and sipping on some mineral water. Ciao ciao! 🙂

