The Munich Botanical Gardens

by Heidi Obermeyer

Oh my dears, how time flies! I am now 3 days away from departing a green, summery, slightly weathered Germany. Classes ended on July 19th (and can we just say, school in the summer is unnatural. I want all my time off when it’s nice out and all my studying when it’s not!) and since then I’ve been in Oberstaufen and revisiting some of my Munich favorites with a visiting friend. One new addition was the botanical gardens! You know, those things that were really boring as a child but are super interesting as an adult? Yeah, those!

Munich, Germany

Basically it was just a chance to take pictures of really beautiful flowers. For example, an entire room full of orchids. Who can say no to that?!

Munich, Germany

I love flowers. Flowers flowers flowers.

Munich, Germany

What was also fantastic was that there was a North American section. Cue the homey vibes!

Munich, Germany

Yucca was included in the bunch. Aren’t dry weather plants interesting?

Munich, Germany

Succulents. What a fantastic word, and, sometimes, plant type.

Munich, Germany

Turtles don’t even seem to be considered animals anymore. The only time I ever see them is in plant-related situations, like nurseries or… botanical gardens. Check out this log’s infestation:

Munich, Germany

I like the feeling of having a bunch of windows above you. This place would probably be even better in the rain! Note to self.

Munich, Germany

The most magical part was this huge room filled with a giant built-in pond. The greenhouse was super humid and completely empty- such a peace and whimsical surprise!

Munich, Germany

The whole thing was filled with lilies and other water plants. Remember duckweed from 9th grade science class?

Munich, Germany

We also got really lucky and had sunny, blue skies, which meant enjoying the extensive outdoor grounds as well, which were also surprisingly empty of people.

Munich, Germany

They had a whole section of Dalias and I love Dahlias. Check out these cool purple and white ones:

Munich, Germany

There was also a pleasant covered walkway that was reminiscent of both the Secret Garden and Pride and Prejudice at the same time…

Munich, Germany

And a section of “useful” plants, like these big wheat stalks:

Munich, Germany

And that’s that for a little photo tour of the Botanical Gardens! I’m so excited to head home on Saturday and am really looking forward to seeing some of you then. For now, it’s time to keep on packing and try and get this apartment cleaned up before I’m outta here! 🙂

 

