Sprucing up the new place!

by Heidi Obermeyer

Let me start off by saying… Phew! It feels like this is the first free minute I’ve had so far this week (given, it’s only Wednesday, so maybe that’s not that impressive…) to sit down and just hang out for a while, and man is it nice! My impression of grad school so far: Holy. cow. I never did this much reading as an undergrad (haha… a whole 2 months ago) in an entire semester, and now I’m cranking through chapters like nobody’s business. I still feel like I’m getting organized in my life a bit post-Germany too (Example: I left my checkbook in Colorado. Rent payment via money order, who’s with me?!) and the best metaphor I can think of is a seriously bumpy landing. I am just screeching in on the runway here. So far no major mishaps, and the material (basically a crash course on the EU and everything you could consider related) is really cool to talk about with other people who think so too. 🙂

My apartment is about as settled as it’s going to be, so I thought I’d share a few of my decor items that I’m really excited about. Some I’ve had for a while (back in Munich) and some I got in Europe and haven’t had a chance to properly show off yet. So here they are!

First up are these lovely flowers that I’ve been seeing all over pinterest and finally bought for myself- spider mums! They are just so textured and not at all as creepy as their name makes them out to be. The mason-esque jar is from World Market for $2.50, because I refuse to pay ten bucks at a flea market for an old one with dirt all over it. Plus I think $2.50 is a pretty reasonable deal. And it came with a lid, so later I can put things in it. Things I tell you!

Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Next up we have my row of neatly arranged, artistic, deeply meaningful postcards. I can just hear you ooh-ing and ahh-ing already! From left to right: Oberstaufen (where my German fam lives), a cool postcard I found at Museum Brandhorst in Munich, another cool postcard I found at the excellent souvenir shop called Servus Heimat, also in Munich, a postcard from the Alphonse Mucha museum in Prague, which is a lovely experience if you like art nouveau, and finally a postcard of the Theatinerkirche in Munich, which I talked about all the time and is my favorite church in the city. Phew!

Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Next we’ll move on to a little print I bought just before leaving Munich of the Bavarian crest, which I think was cut out of a book at some point. There’s lots of little print/book shops around the university area in town that sell stuff like this, and inside the matting of mine it states that it’s from 1715. Too cool! And just 10 euro for a really neat way to remember Bayern.

Chapel Hill, North Carolina

And here’s a little close-up shot for you, since the details are the best part:

Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Finally, while we’re discussing crap-I-brought-back-from-Europe, here’s some old envelopes that I bought in Prague and stuck in a frame. Envelopes were about 1 USD a piece, and the frame was only $6 from Joann’s with a frame sale and my student discount. By the way… Joann’s has student discounts! College-aged crafters rejoice. Knit away on your Friday nights my friends. Knit away!

Chapel Hill, North Carolina

That picture doesn’t really do justice to how cool they look hanging on a wall/in their usual home on my dining room table, but natural light means all the better to see things by, my dear. Here’s a close up of my favorite envelope, the one on the bottom:

Chapel Hill, North Carolina

And now for the most recent acquisition… a big ol’ chart. I like charts. And maps. Totally on that bandwagon, 100%. It was at some store in Nashville, TN when we stopped there on our way out from Colorado. This chart is special though (and not just because this picture is so crappy)…

Chapel Hill, North Carolina

When you look closely, instead of boring REAL scientific information, the chart is literally called… “A bunch of beetles on a chart.” Awesome! And if that isn’t good enough, all of the Beatles (musical-type) are included, plus Yoko, and the rest are named for their looks. And brawn. Like “scissor faced beetle” and “evil beetle.” Teehee!

Chapel Hill, North Carolina

And that’s what’s covering my walls/tabletops these days! Any cool new decorating ideas on your end? I feel like I’m hitting a good balance of minimal clean up effort (for moving in ~4 months) and actually having something to look at in the spaces I occupy consistently. So far so good! I’m going to Connecticut this weekend (thanks for the free time, Labor Day!) and there’s always good antiquing out there plus a few gems that I bought and left at my mom’s house there, so it might be time to bring those back with me. Also, may I just mention- my camera’s battery is dead (charger=another forgotten in CO item) so these pictures are all from my phone. Not bad, not bad at all!

