A Foray into Connecticut- the Goshen Fair

by Heidi Obermeyer

Last weekend, as anyone who loves three day weekends knows, was Labor Day weekend, and since I hadn’t been up to see my mom and sister since getting back from München I decided it was time for a little break. To my surprise, it’s actually quite a flight to get up there- about 2 hours I think if you fly direct- whereas I was expecting it to be an hour or so. I guess I just figure all these places out this way are basically neighbors. D.C. and Miami? Basically suburbs of one another! Hartford and Chapel Hill? Why they’re seperated by just a few hills!

Anyway, while I was up there (still getting used to these navigational directions… I still feel weird being north of campus) my sister was riding at the Goshen fair, one of those 4-H shindigs that just get you yearning for a farm and a few animals to put on it. No? That’s just me? But what about the cuteness! Just look at these cows napping together!

Goshin Fair, Connecticut

Basically the best. Besides, when else are you going to get a chance to see extremely clean cows (4-H shows actually require the cows to be so clean that they make special vacuums for cleaning off the cattle- and I’m not making this up!) and some adorable calves AND get to stop for funnel cake afterwards? There was actually a pretty good food selection. I got some fries and a giant hotdog, which sadly didn’t quite rival the ones at the Munich Christmas Markets.

Goshin Fair, Connecticut

The actual cow shows seemed to have some fierce competition. There were quite a few entrants and they all looked like pretty cow-y cows to me! I heard that when they auction off 4-H cattle in Texas, they can go for tens of thousands of dollars because rich Texans want to support 4-H scholarships and get some beef out of the deal too. Not bad if you stick with 4-H throughout high school!

Goshin Fair, Connecticut

This fair had a lot more small animal entries than I’ve seen before. And tons of bunnies! Cue an entire showhall of collective “d’awww”.

Goshin Fair, Connecticut

The highlight of my day at the fair (It just sounds so wholesome! It’s like the whole wheat organic bread of activities to go to a county fair!) was the tractor pull. I’d never heard of this before, but apparently they just get a bunch of really old tractors together and see who can pull the most weight. Riveting. Simply riveting. All the old timers had brought chairs and gotten set up nice and early so that they could have prime seating for the main event.

Goshin Fair, Connecticut

The best part was when people stalled out trying to pull the weights with their tractors. Nice and easy guys! Nice and easy! Guess they just can’t perform well in front of the crowds. Also, let us just note how many guys are randomly standing around the platform that the tractors had to pull just watching. They’re going about 6 feet really slowly… what’s going to happen? It’s not like you can go out of bounds on a tractor pull…

Goshin Fair, Connecticut

Anyway, it was fun to get to see Laura ride and wander around a bit- it’s funny how quickly all this random “I-used-to-live-in-the-boonies” stuff comes back to you when you get a chance to see it again. I’m really looking forward to going to the North Carolina State Fair while I’m in Chapel Hill too- it’s just down in Raleigh, and it’s supposed to be pretty good! For now it’s time to write up a paper and then tomorrow I’m going to see the Irish Ambassador give a talk on the Eurocrisis at UNC- it should be pretty interesting given the newly unveiled bonds from the European Central Bank. Have a lovely Friday!

