A UNC Appreciation Post

by Heidi Obermeyer

Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Well, I was going to complement this post with a bunch of lovely pictures I took around campus (still with my cell phone… camera charger, where are you?! It’s not funny anymore!) but instead we’re going to have to go with a few snapshots from earlier than this week. Sorry about that folks! Now, back to our regularly scheduled programming…

Now that I’m a few weeks in, I figured it was time for me to toot my now-expert horn about some of the really cool things about the University of North Carolina that the world ought to know. Let’s get started, shall we?!

Chapel Hill, North Carolina

1. The people here are just so gosh darn friendly! Oh my stars!

I cannot emphasize this point enough. You can talk to people randomly on campus and that is totally fine! I love it. Someone struck up a conversation with me on my walk home today because it was pouring buckets and we both didn’t have umbrellas. Might as well make a soaking wet, flood-warning walk home that much nicer I suppose!

Chapel Hill, North Carolina

2. This campus is noticeably old. As in, super classy!

The only reason I say this (and I mean it in a good way, of course) is because while I’m biking, I keep running into tiny staircases that require me to dismount and look like an idiot. Well played, cyclist hating construction workers of the last 200 years. Well played indeed! I guess it could also be due to not wanting to modify all of the architecturally awesome buildings at the north end of campus. Either/or.

3. Boat shoes are a requirement.

I am legitimately thinking of picking myself up some sperrys. I DO NOT OWN A BOAT. I’ve never even been sailing! This is just silly. And now all my boat shoe jokes (What, did you sail to school today?) are totally useless because all of these fancy North Carolinans (?) probably DID sail to school today. So take that, landlocked Coloradoan Heidi!

4. Croakies, Khaki shorts, and things with monograms on them.

Just some more UNC style hints that give this campus the down home Southern feel. Y’all.

Chapel Hill, North Carolina

5. The whole darn place is covered in bricks.

They are very pretty, but also so old that tripping over them at least once a day is guarenteed. I have had some serious near misses on these suckers, and I am not looking forward to the day that I really hit my toesies on a wayward brick.

6. Moonshine.

Yeah, that is an actual thing that gets made here. Also in this category of stereotype fulfillment are people eating squirrel in the boonies and an obsession with sweet tea. Like… A LOT of sweet tea.

Chapel Hill, North Carolina

7. Fall out here is legen- (… and I hope you’re not lactose intolerant because the second half of that word is...) dary.

Today is the first nice fall day that we’ve had so far and it is beautiful out. Just a few fluffy clouds in the sky and I even have my window open. Mmmhmmm! Who’s got two thumbs and is super excited to see all the trees change?! This guy!

Anyway, those are a few of my earl-on observations of Chapel Hill and UNC. It’s pretty neat that such a little town can be pretty well known, and that the university is so fabulous located in such a random location. It’s amazing what a college can do for an area really! So thank you, college towns of America. I don’t know what I’d do without you.

