Game Day at Carolina

by Heidi Obermeyer

I really like calling UNC “Carolina” when the opportunity arises. It’s just the right mix of casual and sophisticated. It says, “I go here and talk about it often enough with other people who go here that we don’t even need to clarify if we’re talking North or South. I’m that cool.” So anyway… I probably shouldn’t use it. But I used it in this title. And still can never help people when they ask me for on-campus directions. My bad, general public. Anyway, there was a football game a few weekends ago. Time to break out that Carolina blue!

Chapel Hill, North Carolina

A few great things about UNC football that CU football doesn’t have: free student admission, free pompoms, and a decent chance of actually winning. ZING! Just kidding, buffs. You have Ralphie and that’s all that matters. ❤

Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Despite my somewhat indifferent attitude towards UNC football (most of the other students seem to feel the same way and treat games as a warm-up party to basketball season) I do always enjoy a good hangout session in a giant stadium. I mean really, at a structural/architectural level, how crazy is it how many of these things exist all across America?

Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Oh Carolina blue! I am really enjoying this color and all that it has to offer, namely aesthetic happiness to my blue-lovin’ brain.

Chapel Hill, North Carolina

It was really nice to get to go to a football game again; those were something that I really missed during fall while in Germany. There is just something so pleasant about hanging out outside with your friends in an atmosphere of good will towards your team. It was still mighty warm out the day of the game, and actually, this past weekend was really nice too. No major signs of the leaves changing yet and I am getting impatient! Fall! Show yourself already!

 

