A Flashback to Munich

by Heidi Obermeyer

I realized the other day that in the rush of moving out and leaving Munich I neglected to post some of the pictures I have of the city at its finest in mid-July. I’m usually so fickle with the weather, wanting winter in the summer heat and wanting summer on the dark evenings in the winter, but Munich in the summer is just lovely. Almost never too hot and the rain reminds you that it will eventually be freezing again one day, which is a comforting thought when you don’t have any air conditioning. Ahhh, Munich. If Paris is a city of love, Munich is a city of love for people who love Germans. There is nothing quite like sitting in the sunshine with a Helles.

Munich, Germany

The Chinesischer Turm is just such a random building. I think the whimsical nature of its existence is totally a big part of the charm. One plus: A polka band plays up there sometimes.

Munich, Germany

Or perhaps an Eiskaffee (the glorious mixture of coffee and ice cream)? Always such a treat, maybe even better than Kaffee and Kuchen if its particularly toasty out.

Munich, Germany

Just before I left, Dillon and I went to see a big fireworks show at Olympiapark, where BMW world was hosting an after-party. The building looked so, so cool at night and with swanky lighting for the occasion.

Munich, Germany

We also went to Café Luitpold, one of my absolute favorite cafés in the city and maybe the classiest place I know of in the entire world. It’s a tall order, but Luitpold fills it, far and away.

Munich, Germany

While we’re discussing foodie adventures, I don’t think I ever told you guys about the story of the 50 euro Eisbecher (ice cream dish) at Conditionerei Münchner Freiheit. Here’s the story:

For basically the entire year (since I first went to the café sometime in the fall) I had been eyeing a dish on their menu that looked MASSIVE. An important factor here was that all the ice cream dishes in the menu were illustrated, not pictured, and  I was always getting the aforementioned Eiskaffees, which are quite small in illustrated form and very substancial in person. My thinking was, if my 7 Euro Eiskaffee was this enormous, how big is the Eisbecher that costs 50 Euro?! This problem plagued me for months. And then, nearly at the end of the year, we managed to scrape together enough people to order it- or so we thought! With only 6 of us, we thought all was lost and ordered the 25 Euro “friendship” becher. However, this is the point at which fate stepped in. Germans being the reasonable-portion-ordering people that they are, never ever order the 50 Euro Eisbecher, or even the 25 Euro one, and hence have no idea how to put together that much ice cream. Our waiter went inside and said that he told the staff to “make us something pretty”- which ended up being the 50 Euro Eisbecher, but for only 25 Euro. It was one of the more glorious moments of restaurant service I had in a country somewhat notorious (at least in our minds as Americans) for indifferent service. The Germans would swoop in at the end and redeem themselves! What a trustworthy folk.

Munich, Germany

Just for reference, this is as much ice cream as 6 people can eat when given a gigantic bowlful of it:

Munich, Germany

Summer also brings out the best in the Englischer Garten. It’s such a little slice of heaven, and now that I’m away from it I’ve decided that I very much enjoy public parks, especially big ones.

Munich, Germany

I recently found a gourmet grocery store here that sells Elderflower syrup. Elderflower was a flavor we were obsessed with basically all summer, and Morgs and I enjoyed plenty of sparkling water with just a touch of the delicious flavoring. Mixed with mint it also makes a divine cocktail. I’m excited to have it back in my life! Morgan also used to put it in her yogurt at breakfast time, so I’m thinking I’ll have to try that sometime this week.

Munich, Germany

Just more sunshine, looking out towards downtown through the Englischer Garten:

Munich, Germany

Ahhh, summer. It’s always fun to look back. I really need to start finding some fun activities to photograph around these parts- I guess it’s just hard to see your own country with new eyes sometimes. However, I am heading to Colorado next Thursday, so there will definitely be some photo opportunities while I’m out West. I can’t wait! 🙂

