A Fall Hike in Boulder

by Heidi Obermeyer

Boy, did it feel good to type that title! What a great bunch of words to string together… fall… hiking… and… Boulder!!!

Boulder, Colorado

I got back last night from a fantastic weekend in Boulder, Denver, and Fort Collins. It was so Colorado-y: full of friends, sunshine, high altitude, and delicious eats. Plus the mountains! Woohoo!

Boulder, Colorado

I’ve got lots of food and baking pictures to share later, but here’s a few shots from a hike that Dustin and I went on on Sunday at the South Boulder Peak trailhead. All of the trees are super colorful this year (much brighter than I ever remember them being) and still had most of their leaves. It was gorgeous!

Boulder, Colorado

Everything is, however, definitely drying up for winter too. There were lots of interesting plants along our hike that were all done for the year. I think that I will probably someday get interested in being a naturalist and learning about what all of these things are actually called- at least in Colorado I know some from elementary school science class, but in North Carolina I am completely clueless. That moment of realization came when I was on a hike and walking through some tall grass and thought, “Hmmm… I wonder if there’s big snakes in North Carolina?” Luckily I didn’t find out the hard way, but the answer is yes. Blehhhh!

Boulder, Colorado

Here’s Dustin taking some of the best pictures of all: the ones in your memory. D’awwww! Hehe.

Boulder, Colorado

And here’s some more leaves on our way down:

Boulder, Colorado

And those are Cottonwoods too, not even Aspen trees! I am very impressed. I’ve got lots more to share from the trip, including baking a delightful Swedish visiting cake and some Denver-y adventures. Tomorrow I leave for Washington, D.C. with the TAM crew, which will include visits to the World Bank and the Europe/Eurasia desk at the State Department! I’m really looking forward to it. Thank you so much to everyone who I got to see while I was home- it was a wonderful visit! 🙂

