A Pre-Berlin Berlin Bucket List

by Heidi Obermeyer

T-minus just a few hours (one day!) before I leave for Berlin! I figured that getting to know my future home a bit more would help me to get psyched, so I’m making a list of the things I want to do during my 7-month stay in the city. Berlin is hip– wayyyy hipper than Munich- so it should be interesting to see what kinds of indie stuff I can find there to make my heart go pitter-patter without being too weird. I think some parts of Berlin’s character will be a little too weird for me, kind of like how Munich could get too homogeneous sometimes. You can’t win ’em all, and I am going to hypothesize now that too much weird stuff is going to be more interesting than there being too little weird stuff back in München.

1. Eat some delish currywurst.

Berlin is known for its currywurst. I’m going on a mission to find the best version of it.

Munich, Germany

Munich, Germany

2. Visit Potsdam.

Castles, castles everywhere!

3. Go to the flea market at the Mauerpark.

It’s supposed to be fantastic, and I am always down for a good Flohmarkt.

4. Go to the top of the Fernsehturm.

Where there are tall things, there I shall go.

Berlin, Germany

Berlin, Germany

5. Find some Botanical Gardens.

I waited wayyy too long to do this in Munich! I must find them again in Berlin.

Munich, Germany

Munich, Germany

6. Make a German friend. At least one!

I wasn’t as successful at this in Munich as I would have liked to be. It’s time to go German hunting! 🙂

7. Visit Istanbul.

Turkey, it’s calling my name. I didn’t go last time and I feel like 2013 is the year of Turkish adventures for me.

Other than these few things, I’m not sure what should be on my list! Any suggestions for amazing Berlin activities? CafésI ought to sip a latté at? Restaurants I absolutely must try? Some museum that totally blew your mind? I need Berlin guidance! 🙂

