Berlin is a skeleton which aches in the cold…

by Heidi Obermeyer

berlinwinter3berlinwinter2berlinwinter12berlinwinter4berlinwinter1

“Berlin is a skeleton which aches in the cold. It is my own skeleton aching. I feel in my bones the sharp ache of the frost in the girders of the overhead railway, in the ironwork of balconies, in bridges, tramlines, lamp-standards, latrines. The iron throbs and shrinks, the stone and the bricks ache dully, the plaster is numb.”

-Christopher Isherwood

It’s freezing outside.

Or, at least, it was for the last few weeks. The few months that I’ve been here. It’s gotten lighter and warmer out (maybe it’s just the psychological effect of knowing it’s March), which feels fantastic. But still. How well does that quote capture winter in Berlin?

This week has been extremely busy, for extremely good reasons- I got to see Secretary of State John Kerry on Tuesday! It was an awesome experience. It made me appreciate the enormous amount of work it takes to get important people to important places. And renewed my enthusiasm for the TransAtlantic relationship. Nothing like a good speech by a Secretary of State to get you excited about German-American relations.

Tomorrow I am going to Poland, in the early Spring like a crazy person. Hopefully it will be beautiful despite it being the end of winter. I’m excited to take some photos and see a new place, and to go to my first new country in 2013. Anything wonderful going on with you this weekend?

