Coffee Culture in my ‘hood: Godshot

by Heidi Obermeyer

godshot7godshot5godshot6godshot3godshot1godshot2godshot4
Since I’m leaving for Bavaria tomorrow (hooray!) and I ate all of my supposed-to-be-eaten-for-breakfast-with-yogurt cherries last night for dessert, I had to venture out of the house in the early hours of 8-9 a.m. to find myself something to eat this morning. Since I’ve been on a mission to try as many coffee shops as I can while in Berlin- and there’s a LOT of them- I decided that hitting another new one this morning would be a good idea. Lucky for me, there’s lots of cool cafés in Prenzlauer Berg and tons within a 10 minute walk of my apartment. Last week I tried out Café CK (which was awesome) and today I went to Godshot, just a few streets down from me.

I have been going to most of these places alone, and it is always awkward to figure out each café’s routine. Do I stand and wait while they make my cappuccino? Is it totally awkward if I go sit down and they can’t find me? What if I order at the bar but you’re supposed to wait for table service? If they have punch cards like an American coffee shop, should I actually tip? Everywhere I’ve gone has varied, but generally its been worth the brief and stressful experience of ordering for the amazing drinks I’ve had in this town. Germans are REALLY good at coffee. Like… underrated-on-the-world-stage-good at coffee.

Godshot’s pluses were these: a medium-sized selection of pastries and cakes (some shops only have 1 or 2), different types of beans and coffees you could pick for each drink, and tons of hangout space. It’s always a bummer when you go to a café and can’t find somewhere to sit, and Godshot has plenty of seating but maintains a cozy atmosphere. The decor is also very modern-industrial-hip Berlin, which I always enjoy. They have some really interesting lightbulbs in this place too! If there were any minuses, I didn’t notice them- maybe that the cheesecake was already gone by the time I got there around 9 a.m. 😛 I ordered a cappuccino with the cheapest/lowest amount of espresso, and it was excellent- a mild roast (which I usually dislike) done well. Godshot also has latté art and barista-ing classes.

Godshot- The Future Urban Coffee KlubImmanuelkirchstrasse 32, 10405 Berlin • U-bahn: Senefelderplatz • Tram: Knaackstraße

