Slowly Saying Goodbye to Berlin.

by Heidi Obermeyer

leavingberlin1leavingberlin2

“One should always have something to look forward to.”

A few days ago, I started packing up the things that I wanted to keep when I left for Berlin. Things that I don’t use in the summer- dress shirts. Mugs. The blanket I bought in Turkey. My bean boots. My German-American friendship pin. Sweaters. While I pack, I pick up my suitcase occasionally to see how heavy it’s getting.

Pretty heavy.

Berlin feels like a two-part movie. Part I: Girl is Enormously Happy, Despite Winter. Part II: Girl is Momentarily Disoriented By Being a Student Again.

This has been my longest stretch away from the U.S. at 7 months (side note: one thing I’ve learned from study abroad is to try not to judge people for the length of their stay in a place. As long as you’re spending time where you’re happy and expanding your horizons, who cares if it’s 5 or 5,000 miles away from where you grew up?) and I’m excited and sad as usual to be heading back to America.

I’ve already starting filling out forms and prepping for life in the U.K. (I’m heading to Bath in September for my next Semester of TAM) and it’s pretty cool to know that I’m 50% done with grad school. Yay! Er… minus the ~30 pages of papers I need to write over my break. I’ll deal with those in a few weeks.

For now, it’s time to close up shop- shutting down my German bank account, tossing all the receipts that have been collecting on my desk, and meeting with professors so that I can write my papers from the States. I feel like I don’t have enough time for anything, yet here I am, blogging away. Tomorrow and Friday I’m going to hit up my last few Berlin sights- Hamburger Bahnhof, Postdam (I promised, Andrew!) and maybe even the Stasi Museum. Who knows… I might even have to throw in a Spree boat tour too.

Happy Wednesday, folks. Make it a good one.

