My Bath Favorite: Sam’s Kitchen

by Heidi Obermeyer

samskitchen1 samskitchen2 samskitchen3 samskitchen4 samskitchen5 samskitchen6 samskitchen7 samskitchen8 samskitchen9
It is a rare thing to find a restaurant that makes me want to be a better cook. I’m a baking lady. I love to bake. I’ll whip you up a cake, I will try some tricky cookie magic, I will go to the ends of the earth to find sugary goodness that is rumored to reach fantastic levels of deliciousness…. but when it comes to good savory food, I usually eat it, love it, and completely forget to replicate it at home. It’s not that I don’t appreciate a nice meal, or that I don’t seek them out, it’s just that I don’t really make it for myself very often. However… the food at Sam’s Kitchen makes me want to be a better cook. I eat things there and immediately think, “This is AMAZING. I must have this in my life every day!” and actually remember some of the specifics- flavorful tomatoes baked into a quiche. A dark and fudgey chocolate brownie. Salads strewn with hazelnuts and roasted veggies. You know… all the things about food that can make a meal memorable and satisfying.

Once, at Sam’s Kitchen, I broke a jar of quince jelly while paying for my spoils. Several jars fell, but an acrobatic move on my end stopped a few additional jars from meeting their untimely demise. I apologized profusely, attempted to pay for my carelessness (and was, in typical British fashion, politely refused) and returned several days later to buy my own jar, which was, in typical Sam’s Kitchen fashion, amazing. It’s particularly good with cheese, and most of the jar was devoured in one night involving wine, cheese, and copious amounts of bread and good will towards men. I’m going to miss a lot of things about England when I leave in 2 weeks, and the delightful food that I’ve had while living in Bath, and particularly at this wonderful little place, will definitely be at the top of the list.

If you go…
Sam’s Kitchen • Twitter
61 Walcot St, Bath BA1 5BN, United Kingdom

