Hello, 2014.

by Heidi Obermeyer

hello20141 hello20142 hello20143 hello20144 hello20145

Hello, friends. Okay, first thing’s first- let’s get some music up in here while we’re reading:

As you may have noticed, all’s been quiet on the blogging front. Moving back to Colorado has been like taking a drive down Main Street in Crazytown. Continuing along my life crisis themes from a few posts ago, I’m in the thick of it with the thesis stuff AND have been through hell and high water finding somewhere to rest my weary head down in Denver. About 1,000 miles of driving and much wringing of the hands later, I’m now the proud renter of a studio apartment in the city, where I hope to spend many an hour blogging away to my heart’s content.

I’m not sure what direction my blog will take in the coming months as I readjust to life in the States. My posts will probably be less frequent, but I’m hoping to be good about exploring home with the gusto that I have explored abroad. I’m hoping that will give me the opportunity to show you, and in particular my non-American readers, the wonderful state and country that I grew up in.

I can’t think of what else to say. It’s been a stressful month, monotonous but punctuated by flurries of THINGS TO DO. Let’s just do a Q&A session. Nobody really asked me these things, but they’re questions I would ask me if I wanted to catch up with myself.

What’d you do for New Year’s Eve? 

Oh, great question! I went and saw the Oh Hello’s in Denver with my frans. It was a great show, and we were all asleep by 1:30 because that’s how we roll.

How was the apartment hunt?

Horrific. I am currently residing in a habitable location that I in fact actually enjoy in Denver, but getting to that point was an enormous pain. We can talk about it some other time.

How’s the thesis coming?

I mean, it’s kind of coming along. A first draft is due on February 17th, so don’t expect to be seeing much of me up until then. I hardly got any replies to my survey, although the replies I did get came from a few strategic tweets and retweets of the link, not from any of the 20+ emails that I sent out. That’s (pretty amazing) social media for you!

What the heck else is going on?

Not a lot! Interning, thesis writing, and getting my new place all set up. I went to the X Games up in Aspen last weekend and to Stock Show a few weeks ago, so I’ll get some posts up on those very Colorado things at some point here. Basically I’m just working on readjusting to being back in the States. It’s tough work!

Do you have any New Year’s resolutions? I bet mine are better and will make me more successful/prettier/a better conversational partner at a party than you.

I mean, that’s probably true. Let’s not kid ourselves. No resolutions for me this year! I ought to think up a few. Maybe something about traveling? Getting a job? I still have some basic stuff to take care of before I extracurricularly improve myself.

Anyway, 2014 will hopefully be better now that everything has stabilized a bit. After that rough landing, things can only get better! I hope you’ve had a wonderful “Rutsch” into the new year and that you have a lovely week ahead of you 🙂

