Black Eye Coffee in the Highlands

by Heidi Obermeyer

denbe1 denbe2 denbe3 denbe4denbe5denbe6 denbe7

Is it just me, or does it feel like winter is holding on particularly strongly this year? Maybe I’m just jealous of Germany, where winter was apparently a walk in the park this time around, not to be compared with the epic coldest-winter-in-60-years that I survived while in Berlin. I keep looking around for tulips popping up cheerfully along sidewalks, but so far the only life I’ve spotted has been a few hyacinths along my building and an increase in chirpy birds outside in the morning.

A few weeks ago, I recruited Susanna for a new coffee adventure, and Black Eye Coffee was in our crosshairs. Upon walking in, I realized, kind of creepily, that I had definitely seen an artsy video about the construction of this place a few years ago. I can’t figure out where the heck I got that video from, but the space is beautiful and full of nice old touches, like a vintage cooler along the back wall. I had a cappuccino and a cheddar-and-sage scone, and both were delightful. I always love it when places have community tables- I think it discourages the masses of silent/grumpy laptop users from encroaching upon the coffee happiness too heavily (although I will say that I am certainly guilty of being one of those from time to time). Black Eye is a delightful little shop, and I’m sure it’s even better in the summer with the garage door outside wide open. You should check it out.

If you go…
Black Eye Coffee
3408 Navajo Street
Denver, CO 80211 (The Highlands)

