The State of the District, or my first week in Washington

by Heidi Obermeyer

dcarrival1 dcarrival2 dcarrival3 dcarrival4

“Decide what to be, and go be it.” – The Avett Brothers

“Everyone you ever meet knows something you don’t.” -Bill Nye

“You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take.” -Wayne Gretzky – Michael Scott – Ali Butler

“If you always do what interests you at least one person is pleased.” -Katherine Hepburn

“Can I get this to-go?” -Guy at a neighboring table at brunch yesterday

Well, it’s been a whirlwind first week. I guess I will just jump in to how things are going:

The job hunt is crazy. I think that finding a job is the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do (boo-hoo Heidi, get it together) and I really need to kick it up a notch to be successful here. To that end, my mornings are generally filled with applications and emails and word docs galore, while I generally venture out of the house in the afternoons for various meetings with friends and some unfamiliar faces too. I get the feeling that to get a job I want I really need to stick to my guns and know what I want, and so far I’ve been doing a good job (har-har) of that.

The weather has been unusually stunning for DC this time of year- there’s been almost no humidity the entire time I’ve been here, but this week should change that and I am bracing myself for the return of the heat.

It feels surreal to actually BE where all the cool things are happening- on my walks around the city I more often than not spot an office or building for organizations that I previously knew only by way of the news or through school. Maybe it’s just the honeymoon phase, but there is something inspiring about catching a flash of the White House or the Washington Monument through the streets as I ride the bus. I lost my fitbit on a roller-coaster (of course) right before I came here, and I’m disappointed not to be getting step counts for all these long days of walking.

I’m feeling more settled than I felt while writing my thesis, but big pieces of the puzzle are still missing- employment and permanent housing, most significantly. Hopefully those will fall into place with time, good old fashioned hard work, and keeping my job-hunting spirits up.

