DC under a Blanket of Snow

by Heidi Obermeyer

dcwinter1 dcwinter2 dcwinter3 dcwinter4 dcwinter5 dcwinter6Good day, all! Pull up a chair- let’s get out Cards Against Humanity (the expansion packs only, please), bake something nice, and watch the Grand Budapest Hotel. It’s been snowing a lot here lately, and today’s a snow day, and everything feels right in the world, especially oatmeal chocolate chip cookies.

These DC-ites are wimps, I tell ya. But you almost can’t blame them! It’s not that the snow isn’t manageable, it’s that they don’t have the right tools to manage it. And it’s not the good snow drivers who are the trouble, it’s the ones that are terrible who are out there sliding all over the pace. I did recently get confirmation that it’s the Coloradoans who are out running in these big blizzards, so that was nice, at least.

I am getting ready and excited for spring and the next few months. We have a garden at our new house, and as resident outdoorswoman-in-chief I’ve ordered seeds and am ready to get started on hatching some little plant-chickens. It’s going to be great! So far my list includes kale, tomatoes (some purple and yellow ones!), basil, watermelon, zucchini, lettuce, cilantro, and thai basil. If this thing is as prolific as I hope and expect with the humidity here, it should be a great veggie-filled summer!

Besides the garden prep, I also have some visitors coming in March and April. It’s so fun to show people around DC- it’s been a real pleasure to be able to see many friends from home and abroad in this international pit stop of a city. I went to my first spin class a few weeks ago, and I can’t decide if I like it or don’t, but I’ve been back since, so we will see. Other than that… the usual happenings have been happening. More soon. xx

