Point Reyes and the Meaning of Life

by Heidi Obermeyer

sfpr1 sfpr2 sfpr3 sfpr4 sfpr5

I have been feeling desperate for silence lately. I just want to go somewhere where I won’t speak to any other humans, where I can smell what the world is supposed to smell like without people, feel what the world feels like without people. I think everyone gets that way sometimes.

I work in an industry with a lot of loud voices. Politics is hard, because it is when everyone is supposed to speak up. Everyone at once in Washington is shouting.

“This is important!”

“No, this is important!”

“My thing is most important!”

“That’s not important at all!”

“DIDN’T YOU HEAR ME! I SAID THAT THIS IS MOST IMPORTANT!”

I’m having trouble filtering it all these days. I’m trying to think some deep thoughts, but it’s loud in a town like this when you want to do that.

I went on a great trip to San Francisco a few weeks ago. It was the first time I have ever flown coast to coast, so that was weird. It sure is a long way to cross this great big country! I think it’s possible to get cheaper tickets to Europe than to the West Coast from Washington. How strange.

We spent one day in Napa and the surrounding area, finishing up the afternoon in Point Reyes and around Mount Tam. I love, love, love this part of the country; I just think it’s so beautiful. We picked up some amazing almost-butter cheese and fancy crackers from Cowgirl Creamery and then sat for a while watching the fog roll in over the Pacific. It was truly stunning.

